11x Best Of HomeStars Award Winner

Reviews

If you can dream it, we can build it, bringing unparalleled attention to detail to every project. With 24 years of experience and a long history of customer satisfaction, we stand ready to exceed your expectations. Our customer reviews are a testament to our level of workmanship.

Bill Kim
Bill Kim
2024-04-26
Jay and his team were a pleasure to deal with. We needed to extend our driveway to create another parking spot. So we decided on interlock stones replacing part of our front yard extending all the way to the porch and placing flagstone on our porch. We talked with a few contractors but decided to go with Jay due to his friendly, positive demeanor and his knowledge of the work involved. And we are very happy that we did. Jay gave us a start date and approximate time for completion and everything worked out as discussed. Each of his team members that I spoke with were friendly and responded positively to my questions. They worked hard respecting my property and completed the job professionally. Upon completion they did a thorough job cleaning up. I have no hesitation in recommending Jay and his team. There's a reason why they have won the best of the best awards, and no doubt they will continue to do so. Thanks Jay and team!
Zack Vucurovic
Zack Vucurovic
2024-04-03
The team at Green Side Up Contracting has done an outstanding job at our house. It all started with visiting their website and requesting a Quote. Jay called us the same day and we had a very open and productive discussion over the phone. He is very professional and forthcoming. Shortly after, he visited our home to see what would be required to replace our 30 year old deck and fence. After his visit and issuing a Quote a date was set for the install. We easily came to a date that’s convent for me and my family. The job itself went perfectly and was completed within the timeline provided, as well as on the agreed upon budget. The team at Green Side Up removed the old deck and fencing leaving the work site amazingly clean. They proceeded with installing the new framework and planks for the deck and new posts, rails and trim. The work area was kept clean at all times and at completion the team took their time to put everything around the work area back to its original place and then some – they made the whole site look even better than before.. We have recommended Green Side Up to our family and friends. Thanks again Jay and the Green Side Up team.
Zoran Milenkovic
Zoran Milenkovic
2024-03-24
I am so grateful that I selected "Green Side Up" to do the job at our home. We changed the stairs to our main entrance and demolished the old deck and re-built the new one. The entire process was very easy and intuitive. Working with Jay and his team is great, I love his no-nonsense approach. He is very professional and keeps his word, which was very important to us. The job was finished in agreed upon time and more importantly, the site was left perfectly clean. The workmanship is top-notch, as I like to call it "sharp - lines" and very, very neat. Jay made some important design changes to the new deck, which improved the usability as well as overall looks. When everything was said and done, the job was accomplished beautifully, on time and on the budget, without any hidden costs. I highly recommend Jay and his team! Looking forward to doing our next project with "Green Side"! Zoran
Judi Anderson
Judi Anderson
2023-10-24
My cedar deck, which was 25 years old and approximately 375 sq feet, was in desperate need of replacing. I decided to go with Trex decking and spoke with several companies. I decided on Green Side Up. I was very impressed with the professionalism in obtaining a design and permit, choosing the colour, etc. Jay was also upfront with me about the estimated duration of the job and the start date. When the work began, the organization and smooth flow of everything was another indication to me that I had chosen the right company. On-site, Richard was the "main" man and his expertise, craftsmanship and attention to detail resulted in my absolutely stunning deck. He also took the time to answer all of my questions (and I had a lot) and had absolutely no hesitation in making any minor adjustments I wanted. All the guys were very respectful of my property and the cleanup was done thoroughly upon completion of the job. I am absolutely thrilled with my new deck and my dog is having a nice nap on it in the sunshine. His new favourite place.
Andrei Beri
Andrei Beri
2023-10-17
We hired Green Side Up to do a fairly large project for us -- interlocked patio in our backyard, a walkway around our house, the driveway, replacing our porch steps and covering the porch with flagstone. Our experience from the moment we met their owner Jay in November to the completion of the project in May was superb and the execution was flawless. Jay and Rob listened to our ideas, provided very valuable recommendations and paid attention to every little detail. The project was done on time and on budget and all our questions and concerns (actually a very few concerns) were addressed within 1-2 days. They were very considerate to the fact that we were working from home during the project so they kept the level of noise to the minimum and even stopped cutting stones during our meetings. They only bring the materials and equipment that they need for each given day and clean the area before going home each day. But most importantly, not only are they true professionals in what they do but they are also very nice people to work with. So it feels like we made new friends together with getting beautiful landscaping around our house. Needless to say we highly recommend Green Side Up for any landscaping needs you may have!
Claudia Zapater Talledo
Claudia Zapater Talledo
2023-10-12
Professionalism and friendliness from the first interaction until they closed the door. I cant say enough good stuff about Green Side Up Contracting. Starting from Jay giving us the quote, then Daniel and Cory building us a beautiful fence and finally Brandon, Greg and Rob making our dream backyard come true (stone work, flower beds and all our beautiful trees and plants). Few things I found amazing: - I didnt paid anything until Jay confirmed they were done and I was happy with the work. (Booked them a year ago and never worried about the money). - They stayed true to the quote and our budget. Never felt we were a bank machine to them. They tried to save us money where they could and if they couldnt they would inform us and asked us if we still want it. - We had them in our backyard for a month and they answered all my questions with a smile on their faces. Never made me feel insecure to ask anything. And believe I have lots of questions haha. - They were ahead of schedule (now we get to enjoy our backyard even longer). Overall we would choose Green Side Up Contracting all over again
Sandeep Singh
Sandeep Singh
2023-10-11
Jay and his team are true professionals and amazing at what they do. We hired the team to put up a fence and they did an amazing job and ahead of schedule. My neighbour was not happy I was putting up a fence and caused some trouble for the team but they handled it really well and I truly appreciate their patience. Hiring this team again for their services is a no brainer. I would recommend them to my family and friends any day.
Allison Joynt
Allison Joynt
2023-10-11
Fantastic!! We had such a great experience with Jay at Green Side Up! He was so informative, helpful, and an all around awesome person! Communication was always clear and we were kept up to date on timing. Zach, our builder was incredible! He was very detailed and built our deck as if it was his own. We cannot say enough great things about Jay and Zach! We highly recommend them!
Claire Li
Claire Li
2023-10-10
I found Green Side Up on HomeStars last fall. After reading a number of good reviews, I decided to give it a try. Jay was very responsive and came to visit my property to make initial assessment. Because of the irregular shape of the garden, he recommended a professional designer whose work proved to be so excellent. Based on the design, Jay gave me a detailed quote listing each item. The projected started the end of April. Even with the restrictions of ongoing pandemic and shortage of staff and materials, Jay and his team managed to complete their part of the entire project on schedule. Throughout the whole time, they were efficient, professional and open to new ideas. I had such a good time working with Jay, Rob and their team members and other project teams Jay recommended including Rocco, Sam, Rob, Daniel and Israel etc. Thanks to their great work, I can fully enjoy my backyard oasis.
reviews-homestars

Worked with Green Side Up Contracting to replace my deck and fence. Replaced my old wood with TREX - both deck and fence - it looks great. I finally have a private yard. Another great feature is my new deck and fence will not easily rot over time. Guaranteed by TREX for 25 years! It is solid.
Joanne

 
reviews-homestars

Jay, Rob, and team did an amazing job bringing our design to life.

Our neighbours all have a similar front walkway designs, and I was looking for something different. I had designed our front walkway with specific products in mind to achieve a certain look, and Jay was more than happy to investigate and source what we wanted.

Jay reviewed my designs and made suggestions to change the side interlock to large stepping stones to ensure the paths longevity and support sufficient runoff from the downspout, while still making it look great.

At the kickoff, both Jay and Rob took the time to look at the design again, and ensure the three of us were aligned on what was going to be built, where, and with what products. Along the way, we encountered some challenges with the side of the yard being too sloped. Rob was great in providing alternative options for us to choose from. In total, the work took 2 days to complete.

We really appreciated Jays open communication, detailed estimates, quick response to questions, and input on design and materials; Robs check-ins with us to make design decisions while the work was underway; and the teams craftsmanship and attention to detail to bring our design to life. We're very pleased with the results. 🙂

reviews-homestars

Jay and Rob did a great job with our backyard reno. They dug up the entire backyard, installed interlock, added a retaining wall for a garden area, and put down new sod. Now our backyard looks amazing. Jay and Rob are very professional and personable. They were great to work with and they were very responsive when we had questions or concerns. We found a few chipped stones after they had completed the job and they replaced them the next business day. I highly recommend their services.

reviews-homestars

We had our front and back lawn resodded about a month ago. From the first email the customer service was on point. There was quick clear and knowledgeable communication.
The work itself was done quickly and efficiently. They met the deadline and estimate that was set out from the beginning.
We are so impressed with the job that GreenSideUp Landscaping did on our lawn. Our lawn looks amazing now.

reviews-homestars

I had first used his company for a front yard landscaping project (A++) and it was perfect timing for me to hear from him as I had Just begun my search for a contractor to outfit my basement into living quarters for a relative. Jay’s crew (shout out CJ) is TOP NOTCH: timely, on budget. Knowledgeable, respectful, friendly and skilled. Perfect!!
T Benny

 
 
 
 
reviews-homestars

Used Green Side Up contracting for a backyard remodel for our home. Needed a fence, a large wrap around deck and stone work. Jays team the whole work were super professional, respectful, very clean and throughout the time of the job. They finished the job on time and were always great at ensuring the job was done right but also that nothing was left around.
We are thrilled with our backyard now and wouldnt hesitate to use Green Side up at anytime

Rob

reviews-homestars

I recently had my front and backyard redone from interlocking to putting in new sod. I got a few quotes from various companies but chose Jay from Green Side Up as they were the most trustworthy and honest. They were polite, professional and just all around good guys! I am very satisfied with the end result and would highly recommed Jay and his team. The quality of their work is second to none.
Once again thank you for a great job.

reviews-homestars

I recently had my front and backyard redone from interlocking to putting in new sod. I got a few quotes from various companies but chose Jay from Green Side Up as they were the most trustworthy and honest. They were polite, professional and just all around good guys! I am very satisfied with the end result and would highly recommed Jay and his team. The quality of their work is second to none.
Once again thank you for a great job.

reviews-homestars

Very professional honest company from initial contact, to price quotation, to completion of our new fence project.

We as customers of Green Side Up Contracting are so very happy with the service provided of our new fence.

Jay, Daniel, Rory and 1 other gentleman were ontime, honest, pleasant to work with, very professional etc..etc.. and as you can see did an amazing job with providing a greater fence than
what the builder put up. See the before dark fence photos.

We will definately recommend Green Side Up Contracting to all and anyone in need of their services.

Thank you again.

Appreciated.

Dave and Lena

reviews-homestars

I had almost lost all hope on trades over the past couple of years. These guys brought back hope! They came and removed and replaced ours and our neighbours fence within two days. So happy with your work, thank you, Bernardo, Daniel & Corey

reviews-homestars

Our backyard renovation was challenging and somewhat complex with many special nuances which had us concerned whether or not or backyard was fixable. Jay and his team were awesome:
1. attention to detail,
2. respectful and speedy correspondence,
3. answers to questions and when the team did not know the answer (rarely), they would research and come up with solutions.
4. Very tidy and professional during the project even our neighbors were amazed at how the deconstruction and construction was neat and well organized
5. excellent quality in construction.

What was unique about Jay and his team: any of our request for special features was NOT met with resistance or hesitation. They handled and took care of each request with a sense of professional challenge and rose to the occasion in a way I could not possibly have imagined. I felt that Jay was continually thinking about our project, predicting possible challenges and coming to us with his thoughts and ideas on how to make things better.
Our back yard result exceeded our expectations, but equally important was the ongoing strong work ethic displayed by everyone on Jays team. Needless to say: we highly recommend Green Side Up Contracting and Jay.

reviews-homestars

After a two-year nightmare renovation, Jay, Rob and the whole Green Side Up crew renewed our faith in contractors. They were polite, professional and just all around good guys! They showed up when they said they were going to and got right down to business. You can really tell they enjoy what they do and take a great deal of pride in their work - and the results are stunning! We couldn't be happier with the patio and gates. Jay helped us break down a large project into multi-year phases and there was absolutely no sales tactics or pressure to do more than our current budget allowed. Can't wait to have them back next year to continue working on our exterior!!!

reviews-homestars

Jay and GreenSide came through once again (they did our fence and we brought them back for our deck).

They partnered with a very professional permit application company who dealt with the local municipal guidelines/permitting from start-to-finish and got us all the necessary permits to proceed with building.

Despite inclement weather, Jay and his partner Zach were able to keep our job moving forward and within the timeline committed to.

The quality of work and materials used was high, and we would recommend them to any other family / are looking forward to using them them again for our next landscaping project.

Get an estimate or send us a message

York Region & Toronto

Available at 9am to 6pm

905-503-7123